Tech Discord Communities are Amazing ๐Ÿ‘พ

ยท

3 min read

I've been using discord for 3 years now. I joined multiple servers related to tech and met a lot of amazing people.
here I'll be sharing my experiences and learnings from these communities that helped me grow ๐Ÿš€.

One day I was just looking at the member's list of a server and I saw a guy who had his GitHub URL set on his discord status. I opened the link and explored his GitHub profile, I found out that he was from the same college as mine and he was my senior. he is currently working remotely at GitPod as SWE. I learned a lot of things about open source and remote work from him, he introduced me to Hacktoberfest and encouraged me to start contributing.
Earning swags by doing open-source contributions felt really cool.

Another similar story is: I saw someone posted a link to a website in the chat that provides Minecraft mods, texture packs etc for free. I found and fixed some typo mistakes and submitted a pull request. after waiting for a week, since he didnโ€™t review my request, I DMd him on discord and asked him to check the pull request. he reviewed the request then we talked more about the project and then we also played some Minecraft together as well :)


learning skills and sharing resources:

When I was showing my little web development projects, Figma designs, music, beats, and videos on different servers, there were a lot of people who appreciated my work, gave constructive criticism and provided resources to learn and improve.

I learned a lot by watching other people create something or having discussions live on voice channels.

A lot of people share their projects, creations and resources like tools, websites, guides, blogs, assets etc. which is a huge source of inspiration and opportunities for collaboration and building connections.


Improving communication skills and behavior:

when I joined the Hacktoberfest discord server, I noticed how precisely - to the point and politely everyone was talking, asking questions and giving answers.
I learned that it saves a lot of time and effort for both sides in a conversation when asking for help.

I'm not a native English speaker but I had to talk to people in English, which forced me to learn more and improve my English speaking and writing skills.

Observing peopleโ€™s conversations on a server also helped me how to communicate better and put things together neatly.


Collaboration:

I had a community server where I used to share free tools, premium accounts, methods, tutorials, BINs, proxies, torrents etc. A guy joined the server and sent me a link to a GitHub project named discord nitro generator. it was a CLI using which a user can generate fake discord nitro codes to troll their friends. since it was an Exe file, many people thought that It could contain viruses and that tool was not something really good looking as well. so I and that guy decided to create a web version of that tool with good UI, that's how I made nitrocodes.vercel.app

Discord is a really good place to find cool people to collaborate with. The screen sharing feature, media share, voice quality etc. is really good and easy to use which makes the process smother and easy to communicate.


Here are some cool tech discord servers you can join and explore ๐Ÿ“ˆ:

We Made Devs
CS Army
Blue Learn
The Coding Den
More Awesome Discord Communities


ย